General Skilled Visas

General Skilled Migration visas

General Skilled Migration visas are points tested skilled visas that provide opportunities for skilled workers to live and work in Australia. Under this program, skilled migrant can use their qualifications, work experience, language ability etc. to meet the requirement for a permanent residency. Points tested skilled visas do not require you to have an employer to sponsor you.

There are three main categories for the points tested skilled visas:
  • Skilled-Independent Visas (subclass 189)
  • Skilled-Nominated Visas (subclass 190)
  • Skilled Regional (Provisional) Visas (subclass 491)