Skilled Nominated Visa (Subclass 190)

Visa 190

The Skilled Nominated Visa (subclass 190) is designed to enable invited skilled applicants, whether in or outside Australia, to apply for a permanent residence visa after being nominated by an Australian state or territory government agency.. The visa allows the holder to stay indefinitely in Australia, travel to and from the country, work, bring family to work or study and enrol in Medicare.

The Skilled Nominated (subclass 190) Visa process includes four steps:
  1. Submission of Expression of Interest by the applicant

    An Expression of Interest (EOI) is a method of showing your interest in applying for a skilled visa to migrate to Australia. It is an online form which asks a series of questions about your skills. It is used to calculate your ability to meet the points test and can be made available to state and territory government agencies if you would like to be considered for a sponsored skilled visa.

  2. Nomination by an Australian State or Territory government agency

    State and Territory government agencies can view your Expression of Interest and decide whether to nominate you for a visa. Each state or territory has a list of occupations that guides the types of skills they are looking for, and its own process for nominating expressions of interest.

  3. Invitation to apply

    The invitation is a permission from the Department of Immigration that allows interested persons to apply for a visa under the skilled migration program.

  4. Visa application

    A person who receives an invitation will have 60 days to lodge an online visa application.

Who can get the Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)?

To apply, applicants must be nominated by an Australian State or Territory agency. Applicants also need to:

  1. Nominate an occupation that is on the relevant skilled occupation list;

  2. Pass a suitable skills assessment for that occupation;

  3. Meet the pass mark in the skilled migration points test (based on the information provided in the applicants' EOI). The pass mark is currently 65;

  4. Have at least competent English;

  5. Be under the age of 45;

  6. Satisfy health and character requirements;

We can assist you with many aspects of your future in Australia. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require further information or have any questions.